Skip to content
2018 Faculty Tenure and Promotions

Faculty Begin Fall Semester with Promotions and Tenure

Congratulations to our faculty members receiving well-earned promotions and tenure this month.

Promoted to Full Professor

Chris CherryChristopher Cherry, CEE

Research: Sustainable transportation, non-motorized transportation safety, travel behavior and demand, transportation economics, commercial vehicle safety, transportation and the environment, multimodal transport, planning & operations, transit security, shared vehicles.

Jackie JohnsonJackie Johnson, MABE/UTSI

Research: Characterization of amorphous materials, glass ceramics, nanoparticles in medicine, medical applications of materials.


Jayne WuJayne Wu, EECS

Research: Micro-electronics, microfluidics, MEMS



Tenured and Promoted to Associate Professor

Reza AbediReza Abedi, MABE/UTSI

Research: Applied mathematics, computational mechanics, solid mechanics, fracture mechanics, interfacial mechanics, structural health monitoring, mechanics of energy storage materials.



Subhadeep ChakrabortySubhadeep Chakraborty, MABE

Research: Characterization and mitigation of failures in complex systems using data-driven system identification and supervisory control, electrochemical sensor development for simultaneous detection of multiple environmental contaminants through stochastic signal processing, modeling and analysis of behavioral dynamics in networked societies.

Maik LangMaik Lang, NE

Research: Radiation damage and high-pressure studies, materials science.



Eric LukosiEric Lukosi, NE

Research: Neutron detection and spectrometry, dosimetry, nuclear batteries, applied plasma physics, nuclear physics and cross section evaluations.


Nicole McFarlane, EECS

Research: Mixed signal circuit design, biotechnology and bio-sensor design particularly for lab-on-chip applications, noise theory for electronic systems, energy and power trade-offs in mixed signal circuit design in particular studying the channel capacity of analog circuits, microfabrication and development of devices.

James OstrowskiJames Ostrowski, ISE

Research: Integer programming, stochastic programming, non-linear programming, combinatorial optimization, power systems, scheduling problems, energy markets.


Steven SkutnikSteven Skutnik, NE

Research: Sustainable nuclear fuel cycles, including the intersection of advanced nuclear fuel cycles, radioactive waste management, and novel safeguards techniques for advanced fuel cycle facilities; in general, computational nuclear engineering applications.

Tenured as Associate Professor

Feng-Yuan Zhang, MABE/UTSI

Research: Micro-/nano-scale fluidics, transport, heat transfer, and combustion, novel multifunctional materials, micro/nano electro mechanical systems (mems/nems), low-emission electric propulsion and high-efficiency combustion engines, electrochemical energy storage and conversions, including fuel cells, electrolyzers, batteries, alternative fuel and renewable energy, including biofuel, solar energy and wind power, hybrid energy systems, thermal control and thermal management, and advanced spectroscopies, including laser, optics, x-ray, and electron.

Promoted to Senior Lecturer

Jennifer RetherfordJenny Retherford, CEE

Retherford teaches several undergraduate courses in structures and is responsible for CEE’s senior capstone design course.



Christopher Wetteland, MSE

Research: Early solar system processes, radiation damage in nuclear materials, ceramic processing, solar energy, ion beam analysis, advanced manufacturing.


Promoted to Research Associate Professor

Chien-fei ChenChien-fei Chen, EECS

Chen serves as the director of education and diversity programs and research assistant professor for CURENT. She is also an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Sociology.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

View our Privacy Policy.