Skip to content

Governor’s Chair Howard Hall Named American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow

Dr. Howard Hall
Dr. Howard Hall

Howard Hall, Governor’s Chair in Global Nuclear Security and a professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Hall, an internationally respected expert in nuclear security, currently directs a research group at UT whose interests focus on the application of science, technology, and public policy to international nuclear security needs and challenges. Specific areas of research for the group are nuclear forensics; nuclear chemistry and radiochemistry; and nuclear security policy in the interface between technology, policy, and legal frameworks, including treaty verification and arms control, counterterrorism, and nuclear nonproliferation.

Hall and his group work in collaboration with Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the Y-12 National Security Complex, and Oak Ridge Associated Universities — all located in Oak Ridge, Tenn.
Hall was a recipient of the Department of Homeland Security/Science & Technology Undersecretary’s Award for Science in 2005, and was elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemists in 2010. He received his PhD in nuclear chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley.

Hall is also a Senior Fellow in the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy, where he directs the Center’s Global Security Program. Since 2011, Hall has also served as Director of the UT Institute for Nuclear Security.

AAAS is an international non-profit organization, founded in 1848, dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. AAAS works with over 261 affiliated societies and academies of science and serves 10 million individuals. The global organization has offices in Washington, DC, and Cambridge, UK, and award-winning news correspondents reporting from numerous countries.

Each year, the AAAS Council elects members whose efforts on the behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished as Fellows. In addition to Hall, six other UT faculty members were designated as AAAS Fellows.

Hall will be inducted as an AAAS Fellow on Saturday, February 16, 2013, in a ceremony at the Marriott Copley Place in Boston, Massachusetts.

For more information, contact Kim Cowart in the Engineering Communications Office at 865-974-0686/