Skip to content

Accolades: Notable Accomplishments from the TCE Community

Here are some recent awards, recognitions, and other accolades from our college’s faculty, students, and staff.

Moeller Receives Awards, Fellowship

Trevor Moeller
Trevor Moeller

Trevor Moeller, UT Space Institute associate professor and graduate program director, mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering, was nominated for the University of Tennessee President’s Award. Earlier this spring, he received the Charles and Julie Wharton Teaching Fellow Award (established in 2016) for superior teaching in the college’s annual Faculty and Staff Awards.

Moeller was also recently selected as a Faculty Fellow in the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Faculty Fellowship Program for this summer. He will spend 10 weeks working on a research project involving a low‐power electric propulsion thruster with his Marshall collaborator, Kurt Polzin.

Read more about Moeller’s President’s Award

Greene Appointed to Committee

David Greene, research professor in civil engineering, received a provisional appointment to the National Academies’ Committee to Review the Second State of the Carbon Cycle Report.

Read more about David Greene

ISE Recognized at IISE Annual Conference

Faculty and students from the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering earned notice at the 2017 Institute of Industrial and System Engineers (IISE) Annual Conference.

  • Christopher P. Muir — Harold & Inge Marcus Scholarship
  • Danika Dorris — Best Operations Research Undergraduate Paper
  • Mingzhou Jin, professor and associate department head — Outstanding Advisor for the Mid-Atlantic Region

Visit the ISE website

Jingke Mo Receives Chancellor’s 2017 Citation

University of Tennessee Space Institute (UTSI) graduate student Jingke Mo was recently awarded the Chancellor’s 2017 citation for “Extraordinary Professional Promise” at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.

Nuclear Engineering Students Score Big with ANS and NEUP

Numerous students from the Department of Nuclear Engineering received ANS and NEUP scholarships ans fellowships this spring.

American Nuclear Society (ANS) Scholarship Recipients

Undergraduate Students

  • Mullin S. Green
    Sophomore Undergraduate
  • Kalie Knecht
    Undergraduate (Junior/Senior)
  • Austin F. Saint-Vincent
    ANS Joseph Naser HFIC Division Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Andrew V. Volkovitskiy
    Operations and Power Division Scholarship
  • Gavin K. Ridley
    Rudy Stamm’ler Undergraduate Reactor Physics Scholarship

Graduate Students

  • Rachel N. Gaudet
    James F. Schumar Scholarship
  • Jessica L. Bishop
    Robert E. Uhrig Graduate Scholarship
  • Fan Zhang
    Vogt Radiochemistry Scholarship
  • Austin D. Mullen
  • John C. Wagner
    John and Muriel Landis Scholarships
  • Christopher J. Haseler
    Washington, DC Local Section Undergraduate Scholarship

Nuclear Engineering University Program (NEUP) 2017 Scholarship & Fellowship Recipients


  • Jessica Bishop
  • Devon Drey


  • Abdullah Al-Fadhili
  • Trey Augustine
  • Amanda Bachmann
  • Parker Forehand
  • Travis Greene
  • Christopher Haseler
  • Matthew Herald
  • Kalie Knecht
  • Peyton Laura
  • Jonathan Mitchell
  • Gavin Ridley
  • Harrison Smith
  • Andrew Volkovitskiy

Read more about the Department of Nuclear Engineering

UTSI Staff Service Awards

Several staff members of the University of Tennessee Space Institute’s (UTSI) were recognized at the institute’s Service Award Recognition Luncheon. This annual event honors faculty and staff as they reach milestones in their employment with the Space Institute.

Read more about UTSI’s award luncheon