Skip to content
Montage of NEUP winners

UT Ranks Highest in Nuclear Engineering University Program Scholars

The Nuclear Engineering University Program (NEUP), part of the Department of Energy (DOE) recently announced more than $5 million in undergraduate scholarships and graduate fellowships, with UT students receiving a total of 12 awards, double the next highest university.

The recipients are students pursuing nuclear engineering degrees and other nuclear science and engineering programs relevant to nuclear energy, with only 50 scholarships awarded nationwide.

“We are incredibly proud of the caliber of students that our program attracts,” said Department of Nuclear Engineering Head and Postelle Professor Wes Hines. “These scholarships are very competitive and demonstrate another aspect of the talent pool that UT cultivates to advance the field of nuclear engineering.”

The undergraduate student scholarship recipients include Jonathan Barthle, Kenneth Bott, David Burgess, Ethan Deters, Dean Forrest, Miller McSwain, Nicholas Militello, Erika Moss, Elizabeth Smoak, Hayden Sobas, Madison Vandergriff, Ethan Webb.

Through this program, undergraduates will receive a $7,500 to help cover education costs for the upcoming year.

The awards also include 31 graduate fellowships, one of which went UT student, Emily Proehl.

This three-year graduate fellowship provides $52,000 each year to help pay for graduate studies and research. Additionally, fellowship recipients receive $5,000 to fund an internship at a US national laboratory or other approved research facility to strengthen the ties between students and DOE’s energy research programs.

Since 2009, the program has given almost 850 scholarships and fellowships totaling approximately $50 million to students pursuing nuclear energy-related degrees.