Skip to content

2017 TLSAMP Awards Banquet

Graduating Seniors of TLSAMP

Back – Deja Floyd, Tina Anjonrin-Ohu, Daniel Caballero, Cullen Johnson, Elvis Offor, Hala Sura, Jourdan Jones, Tony Perez, and Samantha Medina. Front – Lauren Cuevas-Melendez, Justin Nguyen, Kayela Statom, Imani Jackson, Miles Gepner, Sierra Ellis, and Chima McGruder

UT hosted its seventh annual Tennessee Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (TLSAMP) Awards Banquet on Monday, April 3, 2017, at Hollingsworth Auditorium. John Hoffschneider, Diversity Coordinator, moderated the event.

Students and faculty were recognized for their exceptional involvement in the TLSAMP program. Tommy Stevenson, Stevenson & Associates Consulting Group LLC in Starkville, MS, was the evening’s guest speaker. Stevenson founded Stevenson & Associates Consulting Group LLC to provide innovative solutions and practical applications in leadership development, community development, and engagement. His words of inspiration focused on the initial vision of TLSAMP and the importance of graduate studies in STEM.

The program included a warm welcome by Masood Parang, associate dean for academics and student affairs for the Tickle College of Engineering—and UT’s principal investigator for TLSAMP. Faculty and students were recognized with special honors from TLSAMP, Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS), the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), and the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE). Travis Griffin, program director of the Office of Engineering Diversity Programs, provided closing remarks.

The goal of the TLSAMP program is to increase the enrollment and graduation rate of underrepresented ethnic minority students (Hispanic, African American, American Indian, Alaskan Native, and Pacific Islander) in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) by at least 100 percent at the end of the five-year period.

Faculty and students were presented with awards in the following areas:

MANNRS (Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences)

Freshman of the Year Award: Dmarkus McKenzie Simpson
Isaac E. Bennett MANNRS Member of the Year Award: Deja Floyd
The College of Agriculture Sciences and Natural Resources Recognition for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring: Jasmine Morrissette

NSBE (National Society of Black Engineers)

Freshman of the Year Award: Frenando Blevins
The Golden Torch Award: Olufunke “Tina” Anjonrin-Ohu
Tickle College of Engineering Recognition for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring: Imani Jackson

SHPE(Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers)

Tickle College of Engineering Recognition for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring: Lauren Cuevas-Melendez
Liderato Award: Daniel L. Caballero
New Member of the Year Award: Christine Garcia
Unsung Hero Award: Edgardo Jimenez
Outstanding Service Award: Daniel L. Caballero, Justin Nguyen, Miles Gepner

TLSAMP Research Scholars

Abdullah Bahour
Evalynn Borrego
Daniel Enciso
Breanna Ellis
Kendra Jackson
Chima McGruder
Samantha Medina

TLSAMP Outstanding Faculty of the Year

Dr. Emily Johnson
Mrs. Jennifer Fowler

TLSAMP Champion

Dr. Gabriel Goenaga

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

View our Privacy Policy.