Skip to content
Engineering Professional Practice Ambassadors 2018–2019

Engineering Vols Get Professional at Spring Banquet

The office of Engineering Professional Practice hosted almost 140 students, faculty, staff, and guests for its eighth Spring Banquet on March 26. The event is an opportunity to applaud students who found success in co-op or internship assignments through the office.

“Our spring banquet provides an opportunity to recognize students that have chosen to add experience to their education,” said program director Todd Reeves. “We are grateful to Mike Stone for providing the resources for the Stone Leadership program which also provides for the funding of this event.”

Special guests for the banquet included Associate Dean Masood Parang, noted alumnus J. Michael Stone, Professor Emeritus John Prados and his wife Lynn, and the keynote speaker for the evening, Interim Dean Mark Dean.

Graduating seniors were recognized and presented with the “orange booklet” titled “Exceed Your Expectations Through Lifelong Learning,” which Stone produced and purchased for the seniors.

After dinner, Dean provided keynote remarks and touched on the points that are keys to a successful career: robust industry experience, the pursuit of lifelong learning, and interdisciplinary awareness and knowledge of engineering and business administration.

Graduating senior Mark Terrones II was presented the Henry C. Goodrich Service Award and Chad Arnold was presented with the Jerry E. Stoneking Co-op Engineering Award.

Xavier Lee, Malcolm Miller, Jacob Reynolds, Nicholas Ross, and Andrew Street each received a plaque for earning the prestigious John W. Prados Chemical Engineering Co-op Scholarship for 2018-2019.

Suzanne Sawicki and Wanda Turpin were each presented with a Certificate of Recognition and an “I will give my all for Tennessee today” sign for their office in recognition of their excellent service in the professional practice office and promotion of co-op program to students.

Two very deserving recipients received the Program Champion award to cap off the evening. This honor goes to those who have spent large parts of their UT career supporting and promoting cooperative education in the college.

Parang, retiring this year as Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, and Prados, Vice-President and University Professor Emeritus, were each presented this award.

“We were honored with the attendance of John Prados and Masood Parang,” said Reeves. “They have been strong advocates for co-op over the years and they were very deserving as recipients of the award this year.”

The two joined last year’s inaugural class of recipients: Stone, Interim Chancellor Wayne Davis, and recently retired executive director of development Dorothy Bryson.