Skip to content

Accolades: NSBE Team Earns First Place — iGEM’s Silver — New Members for Tau Beta Pi

2018 NSBE Academic Tech Bowl Team

Engineering Vols Win at Tech Bowl

Engineering Vols won first place in the Academic Technology Bowl at the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) Fall Region 3 Conference on November 17, 2018, in Montgomery, Alabama. This is UT NSBE’s first top win in this competition.

The students will go on to compete at the national convention March 27-31, 2019, in Detroit.

The team included:

  • Kendra Jackson, senior in civil engineering and current NSBE president
  • Mubuso Nkosi, junior in chemical engineering and current NSBE vice president
  • Kassidy Boone, sophomore in mechanical engineering and current NSBE TORCH chair
  • Hunter Mann, junior in computer engineering and current NSBE telecommunication chair
  • Shannon Sharp, sophomore in mechanical engineering
  • Talecia Dyson, senior in civil engineering and current NSBE secretary

The objective of the Academic Technical Bowl is to encourage and showcase academic excellence and understanding of the fundamental principles of engineering. The competition is presented in a “Jeopardy”-style game-show format with multiple choice questions that cover a wide variety of topics, from NSBE and the history of African American scientists and inventors to general engineering and science curricula.

Read about the upcoming national convention.

iGEM Students Bring Home Silver Medal

Students at the iGEM Jamboree

A group of six UT students won a silver medal for their performance in the 2018 International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM) Giant Jamboree, an international competition for students interested in synthetic biology.

The UT group, including four from chemical and biomolecular engineering, competed against 342 other teams from 42 countries and shared the silver medal with Yale University.

Read about the iGEM Jamboree.

Tau Beta Pi Elects New Members

New Members for Tau Beta Pi in 2018

The Tennessee Alpha chapter of Tau Beta Pi initiated new students on November 15, 2018. This engineering honor society rewards upperclassmen for their extraordinary academic achievements and character.

New members are:

  • Samantha Cahill
  • James Cate
  • Dakota Cauthen
  • William Davis
  • Ryan Durkee
  • Timothy Grizzel
  • John Hill
  • Bryson Howell
  • Mackinzie Hutchison
  • Edward Karst
  • Ryan Keever
  • Ryan Kelly
  • William Kobler
  • Sidharth Mahajan
  • Marlee Mcclean
  • Spencer McDonald
  • Matthew Miller
  • Caleb Moon
  • Bradley Moore
  • Preston Nicely
  • William Parker
  • Karsten Parker
  • Collin Pekol
  • Kaylie Richard
  • Madison Sherrod
  • John Spires
  • Katherine Stiles
  • Seth Street
  • Michael Thompson
  • Parker Trulove
  • Sydney Whitaker
  • Abbey Williams
  • Sara Wonner