Skip to content

Accolades: Notable News for November 20, 2017

Babu Receives American Welding Society Award

Suresh Babu
Suresh Babu

Suresh Babu, UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair Professor for Advanced Manufacturing, received the 2017 Comfort A. Adams Lecture Award last week at Fab Tech 2017. This prestigious award from the American Welding Society is considered a lifetime achievement award and is given to a scientist or engineer who has brought new ideas to the field.

Read about Suresh Babu.

EECS Professor and Student Receive Best Paper Award

Husheng Li
Husheng Li

Min H. Kao Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Associate Professor Husheng Li and graduate student student Yawen Fan received the best paper award at the IEEE Global Communications Conference (Globecom) 2017. Their paper is titled “Distributed approximating global optimality with local reinforcement learning in HetNet.”

“Globecom is one of the two flagship conferences in the area of communications (the other one is IEEE ICC; we received the best paper award of ICC in 2011),” said Li. “This will be a good chance to improve the visibility of UT and ECCS in the field of communications.”

UTSI Graduate Students Earn Awards

Javad Seif and Brett Shields
From left, Javad Seif and Brett Shields proudly display their certificates for Outstanding Student Presentation and Most Outstanding Student Presentation won at the 2017 RAM X Training Summit.

Brett Shields and Javad Seif, graduate research assistants in industrial engineering at the University of Tennessee Space Institute (UTSI), earned Outstanding and Most Outstanding Presentation Awards at the 2017 Reliability, Availability, and Maintainability (RAM) Training Summit. Both received certificates and a monetary scholarship.

The summit was held November 8 and 9 at Defense Acquisition University (DAU) South Region, Huntsville, Alabama.

Read about the students’ awards