Skip to content

Accolades: Notable Achievements from Around the College

Give Us Six: Abel Earns NSF Career Award

Steven AbelThe college had a big summer celebrating five faculty members being bestowed with prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER awards. Now we’re rolling into the fall semester with number six.

Steve Abel, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has also been selected for the honor, given by NSF in recognition of young faculty members making an impact in their field.

Read about Abel’s CAREER Award.


Computations Add Up for Dongarra

Jack DongarraProfessor Jack Dongarra has been selected to receive the 2019 SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering.

This award is presented every two years by SIAM and the Association for Computing Machinery in the area of computational science in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development and use of mathematical and computational tools and methods for the solution of science and engineering problems. Dongarra will receive the award at the SIAM Conference on Computational Science and Engineering (CSE19) in Spokane, Washington, February 25-March 1, 2019.

Read about Dongarra’s award.


Hines Honored as Chancellor’s Professor

Wes HinesProfessor Wes Hines, head of nuclear engineering, was recognized as a Chancellor’s Professor for his innovative leadership and research. Interim Chancellor Wayne Davis and Provost David Manderscheid hosted a reception Wednesday, September 5, to honor the new appointments.

Learn about Hines and the other Chancellor’s Professors.


NE Students Earn Awards for Innovations

Four UT nuclear engineering students won awards in the 2018 Innovations in Nuclear Technology R&D Awards, sponsored by the US Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Technology R&D. Winning Vols were PhD students Kelsa Benensky and Eric O’Quinn and undergraduate researchers Daniel Rutstrom and Gavin Ridley.

Read about the Innovations Awards.