Skip to content

Accolades: Notable Achievements for February 12, 2018

Abel Collaborates for Interdisciplinary Project

Steven Abel

Steven Abel is the co-PI for a project with mathematics Professor Vasileios Maroulas, funded by the National Science Foundation. The project will explain the characteristics of intracellular transport systems by determining the biophysical mechanisms responsible for organelle movements in plant cells through a combination of biological, computational, and statistical approaches.

The project will also establish a paradigm for the cross-disciplinary training of graduate students in molecular cell biology, computational biophysics, and statistical machine learning.

Read about the NSF award funding the project.

CTR Researchers Co-author ARC Report

Four researchers affiliated with the Center for Transportation Research were major authors for an Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) report released last month, “An Economic Analysis of the Appalachian Coal Industry Ecosystem.” The team included Director David Clarke, Director of Transportation Economics Mark Burton, CTR Fellow Charles Sims, and Matthew Murray, Baker Center Director.

This series of five ARC-commissioned reports explores some of the current and potential impacts of Appalachia’s declining coal production on elements of the coal ecosystem, including production and employment, supply chain industries, transportation, electric power generation, and human capital.

Read about the report.

Boggs Wins Harper Scholarship

CEE doctoral student Ali Boggs
CEE doctoral student Ali Boggs

Ali Boggs, a civil engineering doctoral student in transportation, received one of three scholarships awarded by the Middle Tennessee Chapter of American Society of Highway Engineers (ASHE). She was awarded a memorial scholarship of $2,000 in John R. Harper’s name.

Read about Bogg’s scholarship.